Written Practice PDF Template? (US)

Dec 30, 2016
I can’t imagine I am the only one running into this while performing electrical testing in various industrial facilities:

The customer does not have a written practice for electrical safety.
They are requesting one. Keep in mind I am an electrician not a lawyer.

1. Is there simply a PDF somewhere that would be an up-to-date template that I could provide them?

2. Are there legal repercussions in doing this – e.g. one of their employees gets hurt now I am giving a deposition for providing this template.

Best regards to all,
Timothy

Ken Sellars

Staff member
Dec 30, 2016
Mike,

You bring up a good point. As an electrician providing service to a client, this puts you in a unique situation. Here is how I would address the issue:

1. Ensure that YOU and/or your company has a written electrical safety program (ESP). This policy needs to address the major factors covered in NFPA 70E, such as risk assessments, job briefings, required audits, host-contractor responsibilities, PPE and the like. These are all listed in NFPA 70E 110.1.

2. No matter where you find yourself working at, always be certain at a minimum to follow your company’s written procedure

3. Prior to working at any host location, be sure to hold a documented pre-job briefing with the client. In this meeting, explain that you have a written ESP, and that you will be following your written protocol while working at their facility. Ask at this meeting if the location you will be working at has a written ESP. If not, inform the company of the requirement per NPFA 110, and again stress that in the absence of a local written ESP, you and your employees will be following your program.